Every Day Makeup Favs – Eyes

Following on from my last post – Daily Skincare & Makeup Products & Tips, today I’m going to focus on my favourite every day eye makeup products. Like many of you, I’m sure, I have a few different products which I like to use on my eyes, depending on what mood I am in. 
However, I still like to keep things as quick and easy as possible, and so, again, I like to use a mix of higher end, and high street products. You need to choose your combination of products wisely in order to achieve the maximum effect, and staying power, and with the minimum amount of effort. So, to give you some ideas, have a look at the ones which I am loving at the minute;


Eye Shadow

So I keep two different eyeshadows in my every day makeup bag. The first one is the ‘Benefit’ Long wear powder shadow in ‘It’s Complicated’. This is such a lovely neutral shade, which works especially well with brown eyes, to really set them off. 

When I first tried this, I was quite disappointed, as the colour almost appeared white on my eye lids, and no matter how much I built it up, I couldn’t achieve the colour that it appeared in the pack. However, I was applying it with a brush, and once I tried simply using my finger, I instantly found that I needed much less product, and the colour changed completely, now appearing as I had originally hoped. I now wouldn’t be without this little powder shadow. Although a little on the pricey side for all that it is, it has lasted me a VERY long time, it stays on all day (although it can crease a little if your skin gets oily), and it’s a great addition to any every day look, for any season. 

The second little palette which I like to keep in my every day makeup collection, is the ‘Revlon’ ColourStay 16-Hour Eye Shadow in ‘Addictive Intoxiquant’. Again, I like keeping my every day shades nice and neutral, but this palette gives me the option of going for something a little darker than the ‘Benefit’ shadow.

Depending on my mood, I will either use the medium shade, or else i will use all 4. For any of you who are unsure of exactly which shade goes on which part of the eye, ‘Revlon’ have included a nifty little guide on the back of the pack, so you don’t need to worry! Once you get used to blending the colours, it takes very little time. So it is worth practising, as this is such a lovely, striking smokey eye, but which is also subtle enough to wear any day, no matter what the occasion. 


Eyeliner 

Again, I don’t like to go too bold with this. For me, every day eyeliner should simply add a little bit of emphasis to the eye, without making any bold or brash statements. I feel like the best way to achieve this is with a waterproof liner pencil, such as the ‘Barry M’ Bold Waterproof Eyeliner in black. 

It is actually a full sized pencil,
mine is just very nearly done!

This is a great little, budget friendly pencil, which also really delivers on quality. It has great staying power, even on the waterline, which is where I always wear it. There is no smudging or running, just exactly as a waterproof liner should be. 
‘Barry M’ have produced this pencil in a range of colours, so everyone should find one which suits their eye colour and skin tone. However, I do tend to think that anyone can wear a black eyeliner, as long as it isn’t over done. It gives the best effect for the smallest amount of product, which is exactly what you want when it comes to a quick and easy makeup routine. 
So don’t be scared of going for the bold black. It can do wonders to enhance, even the most minimal of makeup, and instantly make your eyes look stunning. 


I also keep the ‘Seventeen’ Make Your Mark Soft Eyeliner Pen, for days when I feel like wearing a little more than the pencil. This pen is great for the upper lash line, allowing you to create both thick and thin lines, depending on how heavily you press.

It’s also perfect for a cheeky little winged eye, going on so smoothly and easily. It lasts all day, without running or fading, and is so easy to use that I feel like I can include it in an ‘easy daily makeup routine’ without questioning myself. 
Again, this liner is extremely budget friendly, and yet it still manages to deliver on all points. 


Mascara

Naturally, this is the last product of my daily makeup routine to be applied. The one which I am loving at the minute is the ‘Maybelline’ Volum’ Express The Falsies Black Drama Mascara

The applicator is a simple bristle type, and is slightly curved, making it great at gripping your lashes. I naturally have very long eyelashes, and this mascara somehow manages to make them appear even longer, while also giving them great definition and shape. I don’t have any problems with it smudging, or rubbing off around my eye area throughout the day, and I don’t need to worry about reapplying it at any point. So, if you’re looking for a mascara which you can apply in a hurry, but still get great volume, shape and impact, then this little product would be an invaluable addition to your collection. 

And that’s it! The entire contents of my daily skincare and makeup routine stashed into two simple posts. I really hope that they have given you some inspiration, and that you have picked up a few tips along the way! 
So get 2016 off to a great start by taking some clever shortcuts with your makeup in the mornings, and take that extra 5 minutes in bed instead! 
Let me know in the comments what products you like to use everyday and share any tips that you have for getting a great makeup look without the effort!!

Until next time guys!

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

