Beauty Hacks | Spring/Summer Made Easy

I’ve seen ‘Hack’ videos and blog posts eeeeverywhere lately. It has made me wonder how on earth people manage to come up with all these clever little tricks! I was pretty sure that you needed to have some kind of ‘expert’ knowledge in the field of beauty and makeup, and understand the ‘ins and outs’ of how different products work. It was only when I started to think about what sort of ‘hacks’ I might like to try myself, that I realised that, without meaning to, I had already developed some little beauty cheats of my own. I don’t know if you have tried these already, but I wanted to share them with you anyways, as they actually do make my life so much easier. Hopefully, you might find them helpful too 🙂

Using coloured lip liners can help make your lips look fuller, and prevent your lip stick from bleeding. However, u need to be good at applying them (you don’t want to end up looking like a clown) and you need to have one to match every shade of lipstick in your collection, and that means more money.

IMG_1471I just happened to be in the queue in ‘Boots’ one day, and noticed that they had clear ‘Moisture Renew’ lip liner from ‘Rimmel’. Obviously, I purchased one to try. Honestly, this stuff is incredible! You can apply it so quickly – you can’t see it, so it doesn’t matter if it’s not perfect – and it still stops your lip stick from bleeding. You don’t need to worry about smudging it and, if the illusion of a fuller lip is what you enjoy from a lip liner, then a little hi-shine lip gloss, over the top of your lip colour, will take care of that for you.

I have mentioned, in the past, that I’m really not much of a ‘primer’ person, so when it comes to eyeshadow, I’m a total eye primer virgin. I have noticed so many beauty bloggers recommending it, but I actually find that, personally, I don’t need it, if I use a certain little trick.

When applying my makeup, I ALWAYS leave my eyes until last. By that time, I have finished with foundation etc, and have set it all with powder……and THAT’S the trick! By applying a little extra powder around my eye area, it allows for any excess oils to be absorbed, giving me a nice smooth, matte base, and so my eyeshadow doesn’t crease or smear, and it lasts all day long!

Of course, it is also important to make sure that you are using a really pigmented shadow. Anything that is too light, or too powdery, will mean that you need to apply much more, and so it then becomes prone to caking and smudging. I am OBSESSED with the ‘Freedom Makeup London Pro Artist Pad‘ in ‘Black Arts’ (shown in picture).IMG_1469 It is £15 in Superdrug (although I got it for £10 in a sale), full of lovely neutrals and gold smokey shades, and they are fantastically pigmented. So, if you’re looking for something new to try, then I 100% recommend these!!

If you have read some of my previous posts, you’ll know that I like to get away with a minimal amount of make up, on a day-to-day basis. If you’re the same, and don’t want, or have the time, to work with foundations every single day, then this next tip might be exactly what you’re looking for!

There are two things which you will need; a good BB Cream, and a full coverage, long lasting concealer. When used in place of a foundation, a BB Cream helps to even out your skin tone, blur any imperfections, and add a radiance to your complexion, all without the need for brushes, or beauty blenders. This leaves you with a nice even base to work with, and so all you need to do then is grab your concealer, to go over any blemishes that are still visible.

So, for this hack, I use the ‘Garnier Pure Active BB Cream‘ (which I talked about in a previous post) and then, to achieve a full coverage, I have been LOVING the ‘Rimmel Lasting Finish Concealer‘, for covering any redness or dark circles e.t.c. I will always finish by setting everything with a powder. However, the concealer is really the secret to this whole look. It is a lovely thick, creamy consistency (meaning that a little goes a long way) but is still light-weight on your skin. It blends super easily and lasts alllll dayIMG_1470

This is also a great little trick for the warmer weather coming. Wearing too much makeup can mean that your skin can’t breath properly, and the heat tends to just melt everything off your face. This can then lead to spots and blemishes. However, using my method, you can cut out all these problems, and still look flawless.  So, as long as you prep your skin properly before applying these products, i.e.-use a good facial cleanser, toner and moisturiser, then this is all you need to achieve an all day flawless complexion, in just a couple of minutes!

Well, those are a few of my favourite little tricks which I thought that some of you may find helpful. Whilst we all love taking the time to apply our makeup, sometimes we just can’t be bothered, or don’t have the time, so little shortcuts can come in very handy! I love reading about the things which other people have come up with, so I hope that you have also enjoyed this! Let me know in the comments if you have any of your own little tricks, or if you have tried any of mine.

Until next time guys!

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Thank you Emily! 🙂 xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

