‘Sleek Matte Me: Ultra Smooth Matte Lip Cream’- Review

It’s officially Autumn, and we all know what that means! It’s time for the high street to start reminding us that it’s only 3 months until xmas, as they gradually begin stocking the shelves with festive sweets, treats, gizmos and gadgets! As we wander through this premature wonderland, it’s easy to get swept up in the hype. However, moving into the next aisle, away from this whirlwind of festivity, we are pulled back into the dreary reality of a regular September afternoon.

Whilst, for most of us, it may be too soon to start thinking about xmas gifts, it doesn’t mean that we can’t buy them for ourselves! So, of course, as soon as I came across the gift sets appearing on the shelves in my local ‘Boots‘, there was no way that I could turn and walk away, without grabbing a few for myself! img_1759

If you haven’t watched my latest Youtube video on xmas gift set unboxings, then click that link and give it some love! ………….You done it? Good stuff! So, as promised, here’s the first of my reviews.

One of the main reasons that I love picking up gift sets for myself, is because they give me the chance to try out new products, without having to spend a fortune on buying them all individually. So, having never tried any ‘Sleek MakeUP‘ products before, I was SO excited to see a variety of ‘Sleek MakeUP‘ sets available. I’d heard great things about their liquid lip products, so I grabbed the ‘Matte Me’ Lip Creams. These came as a set of four, 3ml bottles, and cost just £5. The set included the shades ‘Birthday Suit’, ‘Rioja Red‘, ‘Velvet Slipper‘ and ‘Old Hollywood‘.  blog-sleek

The first thing that I noticed about these lip creams was that they are super easy to apply. They go on nice and smoothly, and give a lovely, even colour. A little goes a long way with these bad boys though, so don’t be tempted to dip the applicator into the product for a second time. One coat should be plenty.

As you may expect from the name ‘Lip Cream’, the consistency is very creamy. However, it dries quickly, and so doesn’t leave lips sticky. It’s also a very light formula, and so I instantly forget that I have anything on my lips at all. There is no feeling of dryness, and at the end of the day when I take it off, my lips aren’t dry, sore or cracked.

The packaging of these lip creams is very cute, and the rectangular bottle, and lid, make it easy to open and close. The applicator included is also a good shape, so I don’t feel the need to use a lip brush in order to achieve a ‘neat’ finish. I also find that it holds a good amount of product, and because it is more of a ‘sponge’ applicator, rather than a brush, there is no danger of little stray bristles spreading the product outside of your lip line.

img_1760In terms of durability, these are pretty awesome. There is very little need to re-apply this throughout the course of a day. It doesn’t crack or flake off, and mine even lasted through several periods of eating and drinking.

The only thing that I think goes against these slightly, is the fact that you pretty much NEED to wear a lip liner with them, especially with the darker colours. They do tend to bleed a bit, and I found myself constantly needing to check in the mirror and wipe the corners of my mouth. I don’t normally tend to go for liquid lipsticks, and so this could very well just be an issue with them all, but I guess it is easily remedied. Personally, in terms of lip liner, I would choose a clear one, just as the strong pigmentation of these lip creams is bold enough for me. You could totally choose to wear a complementary shade of lip liner though, if you like to make more of an emphasis on your lips.

So, I think that pretty much finishes up the first of my 3 gift set reviews. This was a great little purchase, and it has certainly got my Autumn lip colours sorted for this year! I hope that you have found this helpful, especially if you’re still on the fence about these products, and definitely keep these in mind if you’re looking for a little stocking filler/secret santa gift closer to ‘the time‘!

For now though, don’t forget to check out my YouTube to see what products will feature in my next 2 reviews!

Until Next Time Guys!!

Leave a Reply

